Men’s Coach of the Year: Guardiola, Mancini & Tuchel lead top 3, Southgate 7th.

Advert!! (Post Continues Below)

Josep Guardiola, Roberto Mancini and Thomas Tuchel are on the shortlist for the 2020/21 UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year award.

The winner will be named – along with the UEFA Men’s and Women’s Players of the Year and UEFA Champions League positional award winners – during the 2021/22 UEFA Champions League draw ceremony in Istanbul on Thursday 26 August. The 2020/21 UEFA Europa League Player of the Season will be announced the following day.

UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year nominees

Josep Guardiola (Manchester City)

Advert!! (Post Continues Below)

Guided City to their first UEFA Champions League final and restored them at the apex of English domestic football, finishing 12 points clear in the Premier League and lifting the League Cup.

Roberto Mancini (Italy)

The puppet master behind the Azzurri’s remarkable rise from failing to qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup to winning UEFA EURO 2020 in thrilling style, the final their 34th game unbeaten.

Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea)

Orchestrated a sensational turnaround after replacing Frank Lampard on 26 January, leading Chelsea to their second UEFA Champions League title – the first coach to reach successive finals with different clubs.

The rest of the top ten

4 Unai Emery (Villarreal) – 64 points

5 Diego Simeone (Atlético de Madrid) – 29 points

6 Antonio Conte (Internazionale, now free agent) – 19 points

7 Gareth Southgate (England) – 18 points

8 Christophe Galtier (LOSC Lille, now at Nice) – 16 points

9 Ole Gunnar Solskjær (Manchester United) – 14 points

Advert!! (Post Continues Below)

10 Kasper Hjulmand (Denmark) – 11 points

What is the UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year award?

For this award, coaches in Europe, irrespective of nationality, have been judged in regard to their performances over the whole season in all competitions – both domestically and internationally – at either club, or national team level.

How were the coaches shortlisted?

The shortlist of three players was selected by a jury comprising the following:

24 coaches of the teams which participated in this summer’s UEFA EURO 2020

80 coaches of the clubs that participated in the group stages of the 2020/21 UEFA Champions League (32) and UEFA Europa League (48)

55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group, one from each of UEFA’s member associations

Jury members chose their top three coaches, with the first receiving five points, the second three and the third one. Coaches were not allowed to vote for themselves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.